WLA is proud to offer scholarships for:

Graduate Study Scholarships

2017 Maryan E. Reynolds Scholarship Timeline

Applications open: September 11, 2017
Applications close: October 16, 2017
Winner announced: October 23, 2017

Scholarship winners will be recognized November 3, 2017 during the WLA Business Lunch & Awards Meeting at the 2017 WLA Conference.

Interest Group Scholarships offered by WALT and WALE

Congratulations to the 2016 recipient of the Maryan E. Reynolds Graduate Study Scholarship, Sunny Kim

The Scholarship Committee is happy to announce that the 2016 Maryan E. Reynolds Graduate School Scholarship has been awarded to Sunny Kim. Sunny is a student at the University of Washington Information School and expects to graduate in Spring 2017.

The committee was impressed with Sunny’s active involvement in WLA as a member of the CAYAS steering committee and as a conference presenter. Sunny’s interests have focused on service to teens and on diversity and equality issues. Sunny expects to pursue a public library career focusing on teens.


Congratulations to the 2015 recipients of the Maryan E. Reynolds Graduate Study Scholarships, Geraldine Ventura and Meg Beade

Geraldine Ventura
Geraldine is a Library & Archives Paraprofessional at High College Library, who will graduate from Emporia State University with a Masters of Library Science in August 2015.  Geraldine is interested in information literacy instruction and services to diverse communities.

Meg Beade
Meg Beade is currently doing directed field work as a Children’s Librarian intern with the Seattle Public Library.  She is expected to graduate in June of 2015 from the University of Washington’s Information School.  Meg has extensive WLA experience as past iSchool Liaison.

Thank you to the following donors, who made scholarship donations at the OLA/WLA 2013 conference:
  • Ahniwa Ferrari
  • Jeanne Fondrie
  • Rhonda Gould
  • Betha Gutsche
  • Jan Hanson
  • Cynthia Harrison
  • Phil Heikkinen
  • Nancy Ledeboer
  • Kathy Smargiassi
  • And to all of the anonymous donors

If you would like to make a donation, please fill out the online form

The WLA Scholarships are named for Maryan E. Reynolds, Washington State Librarian from 1951 to 1974. Reynolds joined the state library staff in the 1940s and was a leader in the development and expansion of state library service in Washington State. Her book, The Dynamics of Change, provides a history of the Washington State Library from its territorial beginnings in 1853 throught the late 1990s.