School Home | Advocacy | Bargaining | Book Awards | Communications | Conference |
 Committees | Intellectual Freedom | LIT Framework | Meeting Minutes |
 Professional Awards | School Scholarships |
 Teaching Resources | Contact ScLD

Professional Awards

Please visit the WLA Merit Awards page to learn more about awards sponsored by the School Library Division.

2017 winners will be announced at the 2017 WLA conference

2016 winners 

Supervisors of the Year 

  • Dave Davis, Director Instructional Technology, Tacoma Public Schools
  • Hannah Gbenro, Admin on Special Assignment, Libraries of the Future support, Tacoma Public Schools

Teacher Librarian of the Year

  • Craig Seasholes, Captain Steven Sanislo Elementary School, Seattle Public Schools

WLA/WLMA Emeritus Award

  • Ann Warner
  • Mary Kay Rolwes

President's Award
  • Mike Eisenberg, founding Dean of the iSchool at the University of Washington

Special Recognition Award

  • Amy Nelson, Director of Teaching and Learning, Mukilteo School District


2015 Winners

High School Principal of the Year 

  • Karen Remy Anderson
  • River Ridge High School
  • North Thurston School District 

Elementary School Principal of the Year 

  • Kelly Boynton
  • Nelson Elementary
  • Bethel School District 

Supervisor of the Year 

  • Dr. Christine Moloney
  • Director of Instructional Leadership
  • Puyallup School District

Teacher Librarian of the Year

  • Stephen Coker
  • North Thurston High School
  • North Thurston School District

WLA/WLMA Emeritus Award

  • Barb Engvall
  • John Campbell Elementary
  • Selah School District 119

ISTE Making IT Happen

  • Morgan Larsen
  • Green Acres Elementary
  • Central Valley School District