WLA Book Awards Home | The Otter Award | Nominees | Selection Process |
Voting | Promotion | About Otter Award | The Committee | Award History

OTTER Award History

 2019 OTTER Award






2019 OTTER Nominees

  • Catstronauts: mission moon by Drew Brockington (Little, Brown)
  • Dragons and Marshmallows (Zoey and Sassafras) by Asia Citro, illustrated by Marion Lindsay (The Innovation Press)
  • Game Over, Super Rabbit Boy! (Press Start!) by Thomas Flintham (Branches/Scholastic)
  • Jasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen by Debbi Michiko Florence, illustrated by Elizabet Vukovic (FSG / Macmillian Kids)
  • March of the Mini-Beasts (The D.A.T.A. Set) by Ada Hopper, illustrated by Sam Ricks (Little Simon / Simon & Schuster)
  • Dolphin Rescue (Animal Planet Adventures) by Catherine Nichols , illustrated by James Burks (Liberty Street / Time Inc. Books)


2018 OTTER Award 

The Bad Guys: Episode 1 by Aaron Blabey

In its second year, 5,500 students across WA state read & voted for their favorite nominee. 
The Bad Guys: Episode 1 received 2,024 votes.



2018 OTTER Nominees

Bad Guys
Great pet escape
All Paws
Infamous ratsos
Lola levine
The Bad Guys 
Aaron Blabey
The Great Pet Escape 
Victoria Jamieson
All Paws on Deck 
Jessica Young
The Infamous Ratsos 
Kara LaReau

I am Jane Goodall 
by Brad Meltzer

Lola Levine Is Not Mean 
by Monica Brown


2017 OTTER Awards

Hilo: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth by Judd Winick

In its inaugural year, a total of 4,919 students in 83 Washington schools who read a minimum of 2 books on the OTTER Award list voted for their favorite nominee.  Hilo received 1,521 votes.

83: Schools in Washington State that participated
4,919: Students who read at least 2 books to vote
34: Public schools that promoted and voted for the award
2: Independent schools that promoted and voted for the award
6: Books on the inaugural reading list
603: Votes for Kung Pow Chicken: Let’s Get Cracking!
649: Votes for Shelter Pet Squad: Jelly Bean
664: Votes for The Haunted Library
674: Votes for Dragon Masters: Rise of the Earth Dragon
808: Votes for Ranger in Time: Rescue on the Oregon Trail
1,521: Votes for Hilo: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth
1: Winning book – Hilo: The Boy who Crashed to Earth by Judd Winick